Hello, dear readers. It is a quiet news day here on the island. The beautiful weather we had last weekend and on Monday has gone. It is cloudy and in the mid-forties today. This slow roll out of Spring here in Maine is torturing me! In Maryland, where I spent the last twenty years of my life, it is definitely Springtime already. Alas, I will have to be patient. 

I thought I would share with you a couple pictures from around the house with you. Both photos were taken in my bedroom. The first is my jewelry box and its accoutrements:


This jewelry box is actually a stainless steel portable dental cabinet from Tufts University. I found it at the Blessing Barn in Mendon, Massachusetts in November, 2015 for $35 as described originally here. The piece is brilliant. I love it. 

On the left hand side of the cabinet, there is a small porcelain figurine of a girl holding some pink roses. She is one of my most prized possessions; she is the Happy Birthday Girl. Wind her up and she plays Happy Birthday. She originally belonged to my Meme, my paternal grandmother. The Happy Birthday Girl came out at every family birthday celebration and was played immediately upon the lighting of the candles on each and every birthday cake. So many lovely memories associated with this little figurine. So I display her prominently. It is a good thing I am not sentimental, no?

Here is the other photo:


Ah. My bed. Fluffy pillows. Frank Sinatra (on left) and Rags. A girl needs her bed buddies, am I right?

Finally, photos of a lone daffodil I saw the other day on an embankment on the island. First, from a distance, then close up:



The flower’s bright yellow smiling face caught my eye as I was passing by. I smiled back and snapped the photos. 

Yours, Merryweather 

