Tags

Since I received my driver’s license as a teenager, I have designated that it is my desire to donate my organs upon my death. I have included this desire to be an organ donor in my will as well. Of course, I have let darling daughter know about my wishes to donate my organs.

Did you know that there are currently more than 123,000 people in the United States awaiting life saving organ transplants?

Sadly, the demand for organs far exceeds the supply. 

I can help. You can help. 

I am not sure where my desire to be an organ donor arose from, except the idea that, in my death, I could possibly help someone desperately needing help. In fact, my organs might help several people awaiting organ transplants. Organs and tissues that can be donated include the heart, kidneys, lungs, pancreas, liver, intestines, corneas, skin, tendons, bone, and heart valves. 

I recently read a New York Times article about a bride who was walked down the aisle at her wedding by the man who received her murdered father’s donated heart some ten years earlier. It is a touching story of how one family’s grace and generosity under terrible circumstances alleviated another family’s suffering, facing the imminent death of a loved one. 

In fact, one organ donor can save up to eight lives. I read on the Donate Life website that while 95% of Americans are in favor of being an organ donor, only 52% are registered to donate their organs. It seems we really need to get the word out about organ donation. 

There is lots of information available on the Internet about organ donation. Learn the facts and please consider the possibility of becoming an organ donor. 

Yours, Merryweather

