Tags

As I write this post, I am less than an hour from successfully completing my first Whole30!  

To recap, for the last thirty days I have eaten only meat and eggs, vegetables, fruits, and healthy fats. No dairy, grains, legumes, sugar or artificial sweeteners, soy, MSG, unhealthy fats, or alcohol. No processed food. Just healthy, “whole” food. 

This eating pattern was a major league shift from how I was eating previously. I had some really bad habits. I cold turkeyed diet coke and Dunkin’ Donuts iced coffee with cream and sugar on the program. And I lived to tell about it!

I can actually say I enjoyed the program. I like the simplicity and strictness of Whole30. I don’t typically do well with moderation in terms of diet. So the Whole30 approach really worked for me. 

I was not hungry or, worse yet, hangry on the program. I think quitting sugar and eating a lot of protein kept my hunger at bay. I learned to make, eat, and enjoy food that was both delicious and nutritious as opposed to eating quick and easy unhealthy processed food. 

I did not eat out as often as usual while on Whole30. But each time I did eat in a restaurant (Whole30 compliant food of course!) was exquisite. While dining out, I enjoyed the break from the kitchen work Whole30 requires. 

It took significantly more time in terms of planning and prepping and cooking and cleaning for Whole30 than with how I used to eat. I spent more time in my kitchen this last month, than probably the previous six months combined. 

In addition to improving the quality of the food I eat, I have lost weight with Whole30! Exactly how much weight remains to be seen. I plan to go to my doctor’s office on Monday to get weighed. I don’t have a scale at home. Last Saturday, I broke the program rule not to weigh myself for thirty days. It looked like I had lost ten pounds on the scale at the antique store. I was happy. 

Earlier tonight, once again out of sheer curiosity, I hopped on a cheap Kmart scale while browsing in the store (I know you are all jealous of my exciting Saturday night at the local Kmart). I am thinking the scale wasn’t accurate because it would have had me losing more than thirty pounds. That can’t be right. So check back here on Monday when I have verified my current weight at the doctor’s office for official weight loss results. 

Honestly, folks, if I can do this program you can too. If you need to lose weight and nothing seems to be working, I suggest the Whole30 program (of course, check with your doctor before starting any weight loss endeavor).

For the first time in years, I have my hunger and eating under control. I have a journey ahead of me to get back to my ideal weight, but I am clearly now on the right track. And it feels great!

Yours, Merryweather

