Tags

, , , , , , ,

I had a spirited debate with me, myself, and I as to whether I was going to blog about my Whole30 experience. There are many great blogs out there about Whole30. I know because I’ve read them. I dare say I probably can’t add anything terribly original. In any case, here are my two cents. 

If, like me, you might have been living under a rock and want to know what the heck a Whole30 is, let me start at the beginning. In June 2012, Dallas and Melissa Hartwig published the book “It Starts with Food”. I bought the book. 

  
The book outlines a healthy eating program. For thirty days, you feed your body the best possible food you can get your hands on. Protein. Vegetables. Fruit. Healthy Fats. That is it. 

Whole food for thirty days. 

What this means is no added sugar or artificial sweeteners, no dairy, no grains, no legumes, no alcohol, and no soy. Goodbye, processed foods!

The idea is that you reset your metabolism. You cleanse your body for thirty days of any substances that might be causing systemic inflammation. At the end of thirty days, one at a time you reintroduce these foods noticing how your body reacts. In this way you can make informed decisions about what you want to eat to maximize your health. 

It is all there in the book or on the Whole30 Program website. The Hartwigs have very generously shared the info from their book on the website. For free. Information, rules, studies, anecdotes, advice, and tough love. It is all there. 

I understand that people tend to lose weight on their Whole30s. But that is not the focus of the program. In fact, one rule is that you not weigh yourself for the thirty days. Don’t let that scale make you her bitch. Just don’t do it. 

I would never be mistaken for a health conscious person. Far from it. Reading “It Starts With Food” revealed that I was actually unconscious when it came to my food habits. Asleep at the wheel. 

I saw the doctor the other day for the first time in a long time and let me say he was not pleased with my weight. He told me twenty (!) times that I need to lose weight. He was not amused by my “extra lovely” sized self.  Again, with the tough love. 

Tough love is what I need. 

But, to be honest, these first ten days have not been tough. I expected they would be. I cold turkeyed diet coke (bad, bad addiction) and iced coffees with cream and sugar. No more survival food (i.e. frozen waffles). No chocolate. 

I grocery shopped at several stores for healthy, whole foods. Beautiful foods. I went into the health food store and it did not fall down. I have bought into the idea that I can do this for thirty days. 

So here I am on Day Ten of my Whole30 to tell you I have not been hungry. I am eating well. I focus on what I can have, rather than what I can’t. I have stopped snacking. For the first time in years I have my ravenous appetite under control. I am off sugar. Completely. That is amazing. My clothes are fitting better. Yay!

  
Today’s breakfast also known as “meal one” featured two organic, free range eggs fried in virgin coconut oil, half an avocado, a yellow bell pepper, and a kiwi fruit. Seriously delicious. 

So I have twenty days left to my first Whole30. Regrettably, it is going to take more than one Whole30 to get to my ideal weight. But now I have the tools thanks to Dallas and Melissa Hartwig to successfully undertake the endeavor!  Woo hoo!

Yours, Merryweather

