Tags

, , , , ,

I have a before and after for you today. This one has been a long time coming and involves my bedroom. I had a waterbed for thirty years. I loved that waterbed. This is a before picture of my bedroom, featuring said waterbed. 

  
Alas, in early August the waterbed sprung a leak. Luckily, I was able to drain the bed before there was any damage to my home when it went kaput. It was a sad loss, but the bed didn’t owe me anything given I had it for thirty years!

To replace the bed, I traveled to Massachusetts to retrieve a queen size pillow top mattress from my parents’ basement. Together with my dad and my brother, we rented a UHaul truck, threw the mattress in the back and emptied the storage space I had kept in Massachusetts with darling daughter’s dorm things. 

Etta, my brother’s black lab, came along for the trip. Here is Etta in the truck at a rest stop on the New Jersey turnpike. 

  
I was excited to have the pillow top mattress! I had been sleeping on the sofa in the living room in the interim. The mattress, while technically queen sized, is so deep and what with the pillow top that  all my queen sized quilts are short on it. I have exactly one quilt that worked.  

  
So I started thinking about finding a new larger quilt. Put it out there for the Universe, as it were. Then I went to Vintage Values the other day. You won’t believe what I found! A king size white ruffled Rachel Ashwell Simply Shabby Chic comforter! For $5! 

  

The quilt is perfect! It is divine! It is heavenly! And it is mine! The lighting in this photo isn’t great. If we ever get another sunny day here in Maryland I will retake the photo.  

The mattress is extremely comfortable. And high! I have to get a running start and sort of pole vault on top of it to get in! I actually have a set of bed stairs in storage. I may need to get them out. 

So a big thanks to my dad and brother for helping with the Great Mattress Relocation Program of 2015! And a thank you also to the Universe for the divine comforter! Together, they make a heavenly bed which is like sleeping in a huge bed of clouds! 

Yours, Merryweather

