Tags

, ,

Well my friends, I am back in the real estate game! The object of my affection is shown above. Built in 1865, the house is a three bedroom, two bathroom farmhouse with just over 2,000 square feet of living space. The house has been completely renovated, but retains much of its original charm. It is located in a remote, charming New England village surrounded by conservation land. The house is nearby the town common where a country store, schools, the post office, churches and the library are located. Situated on a third of an acre, there are perennial gardens, raised beds for vegetable gardens, arborvitae for privacy, and raspberry and blueberry bushes for snacking in the yard. It is perfect!

Darling daughter and I toured this farmhouse in early December. There was snow on the ground. The house was warm and inviting. It was lovely. The house has both a finished attic and an attached great room, either of which could be used as an art studio. This, of course, is an important consideration. The house is an hour away from darling daughter’s college and an hour and a half from my parents’ house. Over the river and through the woods.

After consulting with a local real estate agent here, I have decided to make another significant price reduction and to put my house back on the market. Fingers crossed this does the trick.

I have spoken with my buyer’s agent and I am going to make a contingent offer on the current object of my affection, the farmhouse shown above. The offer, valid for sixty days, is contingent on the sale of my house and other standard contingencies like passing the home inspection.

I will have all the paperwork to make this happen to review and sign today. Selling my house, even at the reduced price, is going to allow me to buy this charming farmhouse outright. That is the best part of the deal. Ok, that and the raspberry and blueberry bushes in the yard!

Wish me luck my friends! Hopefully, the sellers of the farmhouse will accept the contingent offer. Then we need a buyer for our house to make this happen. We need the real estate planets to align for us here in 2015!

Yours,
Merryweather

