Tags

,

Today darling daughter, my parents, and I got a close up look at another real estate option. While I am waiting to sell my house, I am looking at real estate near my family. The house we looked at today is a three bedroom, two bath 1840 Colonial in a town nearby to my hometown. This option comes in at 1,899 square feet on one third of an acre. It has a one car garage that might work for a Fiat, or maybe two Vespas; it is tiny. Alternatively, it might make a good art studio. The house is an interesting combination of vintage and updated, like old style kitchen cabinets with granite countertops. There are nice built-ins and the millwork in the house is outstanding. The house has natural gas forced air heating and replacement windows. I could move in without much work. The house shows well. On the downside, the house is on a busy street and the neighborhood is not great. The fire station is across the street. While it is charming, there are some drawbacks. The house has been on the market since June 2014. The asking price, $259,900, is in line with the other properties I have looked at.

Today’s house is third on my list. My number one pick is still the in-town 1850 Colonial with the asking price of $249,900. My number two selection is the 1806 Federal with the three car garage priced at $259,900. I am taking the 1815 Greek Revival off the list because it needs so much work. I don’t think a house needing major renovation is what I want. In any case, I am putting it out there for the Universe again. We need a buyer! Must. Sell. House.

Yours, Merryweather

