Tags

, , ,

To date, the blog has been light on travel adventure so we are going to fix that with a story from the past. When I was younger, I worked for several years as a tour guide. Yes, a tour guide. My favorite trip was to Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands. The photo above is taken from the top of the volcano on Bartholomew Island. That is Sullivan Island in the background. I love this vista.

Tour Guiding was my first job when I graduated from college. Back in the day before the Internet, companies used to advertise open positions in the newspaper. One Sunday, I saw an ad that intrigued me about travel. I like to travel so I replied and was given the time and date for an open house at a tour company. The following week, I suited up and enthusiastically went to the open house. There were lots of applicants there. After a series of speakers gave us an overview, we were divided into small groups and sent upstairs to interview with a company representative. Nervously, I sat on a bench until I was called.

My interviewer was a tall red-head. We introduced ourselves. I later learned he was the son of the owner of the business. I had brought my resume. He scanned it, his eyes stopping midway down. “You lived in Ecuador?” Yes. I explained I had lived in Quito for a year after high school, before college as part of a student exchange program with the Rotary Club. “I just got back from there,” was his reply. And then my interview devolved into a chat about Ecuador and the Galapagos. My nervousness disappeared. I loved to talk about Ecuador and my visit to the Galapagos. He told me the company was just setting up a brand new twelve-day tour to Ecuador and the Galapagos Island. Kismet. I happened to be in the right place, at the right time with a smiling face.

More later, my friends, about the life and times of a young, fast-talking, world-traveling tour guide.

Yours, Merryweather

